top of page

About The Cove Guest Home

About Cove Guest Home



The Board and staff of the Cove are committed to providing a home for our residents which offers excellence in health care, comfort, caring, supervision and love. These elements are tied together with a belief that each resident is a special person in their own right, worthy of our respect, courtesy and the primary purpose of our being here.


The Cove was founded in 1944 by a group of individuals from various Protestant denominations dedicated to establishing a retirement home for the elderly of industrial Cape Breton. The Cove started out as a small home in a facility acquired from the Sydney Steel Company (Steel Company's official residence). The Cove was originally a retirement home and over the years became a first class nursing home with 110 beds. Special programs were developed to meet the geriatric health, social and spiritual needs of the residents.

In October of 1994, ground was broken for a replacement facility on Alexandra Street in the City of Sydney and opened its doors in February 1996. The Cove today is recognized as one of the leading nursing homes in the province which is still home to 110 residents.



  • Mr. Roy Milley                 - Chair

  • Mr. Manning MacDonald- Vice-Chair.

  • Mr. Reg Bonner.              - Treasurer.

  • Mrs. Heather Furey.        - Secretary.

  • Mr. Carl E. Rideout         - Past Chair.

  • Mrs. Gwen Shepard       (Honouary Member)

  • Dr. Rev. Thomas G. Whent.

  • Mr. Robert Munroe (Honourary Member).

  • Mr. Simeon Priddle

  • Ms. Lori Latimer - Merlin

  • Ms. Joan Richardson


  • Cheryl Deveaux - CEO / Administrator.                                Ext: 222

  • Michelle MacIsaac - Director of Care.                              Ext: 225

  • Allana Bowles - Resident Clinical Coordinator                     Ext: 244

  • Lisa O'Rourke - Director of Finance                                         Ext: 223

  • Kim MacDonald - Manager of Operations                               Ext: 243

  • Derrick MacNamara - Director of Operations.                    Ext: 234

  • Jennifer White - Director Therapeutic Services                  Ext: 241

  • Shawna McMullen - Quality Assurance Coordinator                Ext: 240

  • Niki Kavanaugh - Clinical Dietician.                                                Ext: 230

  • Liam MacCormick - Resident Advocate.                                       Ext: 249

  • Cori Hawley - Admin Support.                                                        Ext: 221

  • Trish Reid - Scheduler.                                                              Ext: 242

  • Dr. Rev. Thomas Whent - Chaplain.                                           Ext: 251

bottom of page